Academic Year Calendar for Faculty

Fall Semester 2017

August

  • Tuesday, August 22: Department Chair Orientation/workshop
  • Wednesday, August 23: New Faculty Orientation
  • Friday, August 25: President’s Welcome Department/division meetings
  • Saturday, August 26: Residence halls open (8 a.m.); Fall convocation (5 p.m.)
  • Sunday, August 27: New student advising and registration — 10 a.m.
    Fall 2017 add/drop begins via Banner — 5:15 p.m. Non-matric student registration reopens (6 p.m.)
  • Monday, August 28: Fall semester classes begin

September

  • Sunday, September 3: Fall 2017 course add/drop ends (11:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, September 4: Labor Day (classes IN session)
  • Friday, September 8: Town Meeting (3:30 p.m.–5:30 p.m)
  • Wednesday, September 13: Deadline for withdrawing from courses meeting the first nine weeks of semester
  • Wednesday, September 13–20: Winter/Spring 2018 course schedules due in deans’ offices; final date for approval of new courses for Winter/Spring 2018 offering
  • Monday, September 19: Department Chairs meeting — Hermes Conf. Room
  • Friday, September 22: Last day to apply for in-state residency for fall semester

October

  • Monday, October 2: Department Chairs meeting
  • Monday, October 9: No classes — Fall Break
  • Tuesday, October 10: No classes Fall Break
  • Wednesday, October 18: Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 23: Winter 2018 and spring 2018 course advisement begins
  • Sunday, October 29: Spring 2018 priority registration begins for all matriculated graduate students, nursing (RN option) students, students studying abroad fall 2017 and all SUNY Plattsburgh at Queensbury students (10 a.m.)
  • Monday, October 30: Winter 2018 priority registration begins for all matriculated students at the main campus

November

  • Friday, November 3: Winter 2018 and spring 2018 course advisement ends; last day for unrestricted course withdrawal
  • Monday, November 6: Spring 2018 priority registration begins for matriculated, undergraduate students at the main campus (10 a.m.)
  • Friday, November 17: Celebration of Scholarship (3:30–5 pm) Feinberg Library
  • Sunday, November 19: Spring 2018 priority registration ends for main campus, undergraduate students (11:30 p.m.); winter 2018 registration continues
  • Tuesday, November 21: Classes end (10 p.m.) — Thanksgiving break
  • Wednesday, November 22: Residence halls close (noon)
  • Sunday, November 26: Residence halls open (noon)
  • Monday, November 27: Classes resume
  • Thursday, November 30:  Diploma applications due to May 2018 and August 2018 graduates

December

  • Saturday, December 9: Final week begins
  • Friday, December 15: Fall semester ends (noon)
  • Saturday, December 16: Commencement (10 a.m.)
    Residence halls close (10 a.m.) except for graduating seniors (5 p.m.)
  • Wednesday, December 20: Final grades due (noon)

Winter Session 2018

  • December 18–January 29: Online courses only (5 weeks)
  • Monday, December 25: Christmas Day (no classes)
  • Monday, January 1: New Year’s Day (no classes)
  • Tuesday,January 2-19: Winter (3 weeks) Classes begin
  • Monday, January 15: No classes Martin Luther King Day
  • Wednesday, January 24: Final grades due (4 p.m.)

Spring Semester 2018

January

  • Saturday, January 27: Residence halls open (11 a.m.)
  • Sunday, January 28: New student advising and registration — 10 a.m.
  • Monday, January 29: Spring semester classes begin

February

  • Sunday, February 4: Spring 2018 add/drop ends (11:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, February 5: Dept. Chairs Meeting 3:30–5:30
  • Wednesday, February 14–21: Fall and Summer 2018 course schedules due in deans’ offices
  • Friday, February 16: Town meeting (tentative)
  • Friday, February 23: Last day to apply for in-state residency for Fall 2018 semester

March

  • Friday, March 9: Classes end (10 p.m.) — spring break
  • Saturday, March 10: Residence halls close (noon)
  • Sunday, March 18: Residence halls open (noon)
  • Monday, March 19: Classes resume
  • Wednesday, March 21: Midterm grades due (11:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, March 26: Summer & Fall 2018 course advisement begins

April

  • Sunday, April 1: Fall 2018 registration begins for all matriculated graduate students, nursing (RN option) students, students studying abroad spring 2018, and all SUNY Plattsburgh at Queensbury (10 a.m.); Summer 2018 registration begins for all matriculated students at the main campus and SUNY Plattsburgh at Queensbury (10 a.m.)
  • Friday, April 6: Course advisement ends; last day for unrestricted withdrawal
  • Monday, April 9: Fall 2018 priority registration begins for all matriculated, undergraduate students attending the Mian Campus (8 a.m.)
  • Friday, April 13: Town meeting (tentative)
  • Sunday, April 22: Fall priority registration ends for main campus matriculated, undergraduate students (11:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, April 30: Diploma Applications due for December 2018 and January 2019 graduates

May

  • Saturday, May 12: Final week begins
  • Thursday, May 17: Branch campus commencement (7 p.m.)
  • Friday, May 18: Spring semester ends (6 p.m.); Spring convocation (5 pm)
  • Saturday, May 19: Commencement (9 a.m. & 2 p.m., check online schedule)
    Residence halls close (10 a.m.) for all students except graduating seniors (5 p.m.)
  • Wednesday, May 23: Final grades due (noon)

Summer Session 2018

Summer Session A (May 29–June 8)

  • Monday, May 28: Memorial Day (no classes)
  • Tuesday, May 29: Classes begin
  • Friday, June 8: Summer session A ends
  • Wednesday, June 13: Final grades due (noon)

Summer Session B (June 11–July 13)

  • Monday, June 11: Classes begin
  • Wednesday, July 4: Independence Day (no classes)
  • Friday, July 13: Summer session B ends
  • Wednesday, July 18: Final grades due (noon)

Summer Session C (July 16–August 17)

  • Monday, July 16: Classes begin
  • Friday, August 17: Summer session C ends
  • Wednesday, August 22: Final grades due (noon)

Contact Information

Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

SUNY Plattsburgh
101 Broad Street
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Office: Kehoe 802
Phone: (518) 564-5402
Email: provost-office@plattsburgh.edu