Accounting Program

Programs of Study


Contact Us

Apply Now

Learn More

Visit Us


Professional Certifications

There are many professional certifications available to accounting majors. We encourage you to select one or more appropriate certification to achieve based on your career goals. Such certification will help you to launch excellent accounting and business careers as well as enhance you professional development.

  1. Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
  2. CPA/Accredited in Business Valuation (CPA/ABV): The Accredited in Business Valuation (CPA/ABV) designation from the AICPA allows the holder to position themselves as a CPA who is a premier business valuation service provider.
  3. CPA/Certified Information Technology Professional (CPA/CITP): The CITP designation can only be earned by CPAs and serves as the "bridge" between business and technology leveraging the CPA's strategic and general business skills. (AICPA website).
  4. CPA/Personal Financial Specialist (CPA/PFS): "The Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) is the financial planning specialty accreditation held exclusively by certified public accountants (CPAs) who are members of the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA)" (AICPA website).
  5. Certified Management Accountant (CMA): The Certified Management Accountant (CMA) designation has been designed to recognize the unique qualifications and expertise of those professionals engaged in management accounting.
  6. Certified Bank Auditor (CBA): The Certified Bank Auditor (CBA) designation shows the professional competency of the holder in bank-specific areas of accounting, auditing, banking laws and regulations, and general business.
  7. Certified Cost Controller (Cert.CC): The Certified Cost Controller (Cert.CC) shows proficiency in reporting and analyzing the cost contribution to your company's performance.
  8. Certified Financial Examiner (CFE): The Certified Financial Examiner (CFE) designation is directed at professionals in the following industries: Insurance, Financial Institutions-Banking, or Financial Institutions-Credit Unions.
  9. Certified Financial Manager (CFM): "The Certified Financial Manager (CFM) program is designed to recognize the unique qualifications and expertise of those professionals engaged in management accounting. This certification provides distinction in today's economic climate and affords the opportunity to certify your expertise in the business areas that are critical to the decision-making process." (Institute of Management Accountants website)
  10. Certified Financial Planner (CFP): This is the dominant designation of the top financial planners by Mutual Funds (September 2001) magazine. According to Worth (September 2001) magazine, the CFP designation is the credential of choice for financial advisors.
  11. Certified Financial Services Auditor (CFSA): The Certified Financial Services Auditor (CFSA) designation certifies the holder's knowledge in audit and financial services "covering the disciplines of Audit, the Banking industry, the Insurance industry, and the Securities industry" (the National Association of Financial Services Auditors website).
  12. Certified Forensic Accountant (Cr.FA): "By fulfilling the stringent application requirements and passing the Cr.FA exams, you prove you have reached an exceptional level of excellence, achievement and accomplishment to provide competent and professional forensic consulting services and receive the Cr.FA designation. Build credibility, prestige and respect."
  13. Certified Forensic Financial Analyst (CFFA): The Certified Forensic Financial Analyst (CFFA) demonstrates the holder's competence to provide professional forensic financial litigation support.
  14. Certified Fraud Deterrence Analyst (CFD): The Certified Fraud Deterrence Analyst (CFD demonstrates the skills and knowledge to help businesses deter fraud in the workplace.
  15. Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE): The Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE) designation certifies the attainment of leading edge knowledge, experience and education in the detection of financial fraud.
  16. Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP): The Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP) "distinguishes leaders in public sector auditing." (The Institute of Internal Auditors website)
  17. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM): The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) designation demonstrates both conceptual and practical knowledge about managing, designing, overseeing and assessing a company's information security.
  18. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA): "The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) program has been the globally accepted standard of achievement in the IS audit, control and security field." (Information Systems Audit and Control Association website)
  19. Certified Internal Auditor (CIA): "The Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation, has reflected competence in the practices of internal auditing and has served as the only internationally accepted designation for internal auditors." (The Institute of Internal Auditors website)
  20. Certified Risk Professional (CRP): The Certified Risk Professional (CRP) designation shows professional dedication to risk management in the financial services area.
  21. Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA): The Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA) demonstrates the professional competence, ethics, independence and objectivity of the CPA who holds it, in the area of business valuation.
  22. Chartered Trust and Estate Planner (CTEP): The Chartered Trust and Estate Planner certifies credentials in the trust and estate-planning field.

Questions, Comments, Suggestions?

If you would like to find out more about the accounting program at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact:

Dr. Mohamed Gaber, Chair
Office: Au Sable Hall Room 209
Phone: (518) 564-4198 / 564-3185
Fax: (518) 564-4215
Email: [email protected]

SUNY Plattsburgh
School of Business and Economics
Department of Accounting
101 Broad Street
Plattsburgh, NY 12901