Honors Program

Contact Us


Honors Council

The Honors Council is a committee of faculty and student members that works closely with the program director and is responsible for all aspects of the honors program. The council has curriculum, planning and oversight responsibility for the honors program.

The honors program director is the chair of the Honors Council.


Current Members of the Honors Council


  • Dr. James Armstrong, Honors Program Director — Chairperson
  • Dr. Tracie Church Guzzio — Honors Program Associate Director
  • Dr. Mark Beatham — Adolescence/Health Education
  • Dr. Monica Ciobanu — Criminal Justice
  • Dr. Nancy Elwess — Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Ashley Gambino — Communication Disorders & Sciences
  • Dr. Jurgen Kleist — Modern Languages & Culture
  • Dr. Erin Mitchell — Gender & Women Studies
  • Dr. Richard Schaefer — History


  • Amanda Belcic & Kyala Clegg (Honors Program Co-Presidents)
  • Margaret Griffiths
  • Ella Levasalmi
  • Matthew Rine
  • Alyssa Turner

Contact Information

If you would like more information about the honors program at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact

Dr. Tracie Church Guzzio, Director
Email: guzziotc@plattsburgh.edu

Sandy Boulerice, Secretary
Email: sboul002@plattsburgh.edu

Office: Hawkins Hall 121–123
Phone: (518) 564-3075
Fax: (518) 564-3071