Mathematics Program

Programs of Study

Events and Activities


Contact Us

Apply Now

Learn More

Visit Us



Faculty Awards

Robert D. Hofer, Professor

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching 1995

Samuel W. Northshield, Professor

Lester R. Ford Award of the Mathematical Association of America, 2003.
This award is for an expository paper that appeared in the American Mathematical Monthly.

Karen Solsten, Adjunct Lecturer

Teaching Excellence Award for Adjunct Faculty 2003

Student Awards

Each year, the Department of Mathematics presents departmental awards to students who have shown outstanding scholarship or service. Mathematics students are also eligible for Hudson Scholarships, for which they compete with all science students at Plattsburgh State.

Mathematics Scholars Awards

Presented to graduating mathematics majors who, in the opinion of the mathematics department, have achieved outstanding success in their study of mathematics over the past four years.

Spring 2013 Winners
  • Eric Cook
  • Samantha Fasciano
  • Jacob Green
  • Kaitlyn Huestis
  • Samantha Lavigne
  • Annmarie McGonagle
  • Ryan Poirier

Kathleen T. Schaffer Awards

Spring 2013 Winners
  • Sarah Brunell
  • Amanda Hebert
  • Melissa Johnson
  • Tanya Lovely
  • Annmarie McGonagle
  • Alexander Ramjattan

Semmler Mathematics Award

Spring 2013 Winners
  • Bieler-Snow Seth
  • Ivan Kelber
  • Cole Martin
  • Lily Stalter

Hudson Scholarship

Spring 2013 Winner
  • Jose Lizano Ortega

Congratulations to all the award winners!

Questions, Comments, Suggestions?

If you would like more information about the mathematics program at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact

Robert Keever, Chairperson
Office: Hawkins Hall 244
Phone: (518) 564-4133
Fax: (518) 564-4124
Email: [email protected]