Human Resource Services

Information For

Jobs on Campus

Benefits

FMLA

Related Sites

REQUEST
INFORMATION

Holiday Information for SUNY Plattsburgh Professional & Classified Employees

2017 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees

The following holidays have been designated by the State of New York for all employees except academic year faculty. Reduced staffing in most administrative support areas can be expected. Please plan ahead.

Date Holiday
Sunday January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 2 New Year’s Day (Observed)
Monday, January 16 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Sunday, February 12 Lincoln's Birthday
Monday, February 13 Lincoln’s Birthday (Observed) (Floating)
Monday, February 20 Washington's Birthday (Observed)
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Monday, October 9 Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 7 Election Day (Floating)
Saturday, November 11 Veterans’ Day
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day

Holiday and Liberal Leave Schedule

2017

Date Holiday
Sunday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 2 New Year’s Day (Observed)
Monday, January 16 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Sunday, February 12 Lincoln's Birthday (Floating)
Monday, February 13 Lincoln's Birthday (Observed)
Monday, February 20 Washington's Birthday (Observed)
Friday, May 26 Liberal Leave
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Monday, July 3 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Monday, October 9 Columbus Day
Tuesday, October 10 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, November 7 Election Day (Floating)
Saturday, November 11 Veterans’ Day
Wednesday, November 22 Liberal Leave
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 24 Liberal Leave
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 26 Liberal Leave
Wednesday, December 27 Liberal Leave
Thursday, December 28 Liberal Leave
Friday, December 29 Liberal Leave

2018

Date Holiday
Monday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 12 Lincoln's Birthday (Floating)
Monday, February 19 Washington's Birthday (Observed)
Friday, May 25 Liberal Leave
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Thursday, July 5 Liberal Leave

Notes:

  • Floating Holiday – offices are open
  • Liberal Leave – core office hours are not required, appropriate leave credits are charged
  • UUP Professionals observe November 24, 2017 as a floating holiday in lieu of the observance of Election Day, November 7, 2017, in accordance with Article XIII, Title D of the Policies of the Board of Trustees. 
  • Normal core office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. During the following periods, the core hours are revised to 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. with a half hour lunch.
    • December 19, 2016 - January 20, 2017
    • March 13 - March 17, 2017
    • May 15 - August 18, 2017
    • December 19, 2017 - January 26, 2018
    • March 12 - March 16, 2018
    • May 21 - August 17, 2018

 

Contact Information

Human Resource Services

Address: 101 Broad Street, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-2681
Campus Location: Kehoe 912
Phone: (518) 564-5062
Fax: (518) 564-5060
Email: hr.apply@plattsburgh.edu

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:30 pm