College Council

Distinguished Service Award

Lean About


Distinguished Service Award

Presented by the College Council at SUNY Plattsburgh

Since 1966, the College Council has recognized a person or persons who have directly or indirectly played a key role in advancing SUNY Plattsburgh This award, given at the pleasure of the College Council, was originally conceived by former College President Dr. George W. Angell.

Some of the awardees have included: The Honorable Ronald B. Stafford, New York State Senator, 43rd District and Chairman, Senate Committee on Higher Education; the Honorable Daniel P. Moynihan, U.S. Senator; Admiral Grace M. Hopper, Ret., United States Naval Reserve, pioneer in the field of scientific computing; teacher; engineer; researcher and author; and Roger W. Tubby, former White House Press Secretary under the late President Harry S. Truman.

Individuals have been recognized for their:

  • Contribution to the College community or state.
  • Demonstration of leadership ability in the service of others.


If you would like to nominate someone for this prestigious award, please download and complete the Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form (PDF file size 110KB) and submit to the College Council.

The College Council will consider selection of nominees in February and September for presentation at the Spring  and Winter Commencement ceremonies.

Contact Information

Office of the President
Office: 159 Hawkins Hall
Address: 101 Broad Street, Plattsburgh, New York 12901

Phone: (518) 564-2010
Fax: (518) 564-3932
Email: [email protected]